Make Your Own Toothpowder

smile_thumb[2]

One of the things that is very easy to make and inexpensive is Toothpowder. When I was a kid, everyone used toothpowder as opposed to toothpaste. I think our teeth were healthier then as well. But a lot of other factors could be invoved in that respect.

I have been making my own for a few years now and our teeth feel cleaner all day long and look better. Our gums also appear to be more healthy. My teeth used to be extremely sensitive before and a lot of that seems to have disappeared as well. I also use this toothpwder to clean my dog’s teeth and he doesn’t seem to mind it at all. If you wish to use it on your cat’s teeth, I would suggest eliminating the essential oils and just use the salt and soda. Cats are way more sensitive to the smells of oils and you will probably end up with a salivating freaked out cat. My dog, however, didn’t even sneeze. So I take that as a good sign. 😮

Here’s my favourite recipe.

Mama Lynne’s Toothpowder:

I use a magic bullet to zap the ingredients and mix them thoroughly. You can use a blender if you don’t have one.

Place the following ingredients into the small cup of a magic bullet:

Slightly less than 1/4 cup of sea salt ( I use himalayan pink)

1/3 cup of baking soda

8 drops of clary sage oil (essential oil)

16 drops of peppermint oil (essential oil)

5 drops of oregano oil (essential oil)

1/8 tsp of powdered cloves

1/4 tsp of powdered cinnamon

Mix it in a blender or magic bullet for a few seconds until it is a bit heavier looking than light powder. It will have a very slight pink tone.

I store it in a small glass mason jar and use a spoon to lift out about a tsp which I put in the palm of my hand. This was the way we all did it as kids. Dip your wet toothbrush into the mix and brush away. It will taste fairly salty. But the oils will add flavour and a little bite. When you spit, it will be slightly red (cinnamon) so don’t worry.

Your teeth should feel amazingly clean and will stay that way for many hours.

I do the same when I clean the dog’s teeth. Just dip his long dog toothbrush into the mix and brush his teeth. It seems to be doing a nice job on his teeth and gums.

The oils will give flavour but also disinfect and have cleansing and anti-bacterial properties. Cloves have been proven to help with tooth pain relief.

This is my own personal recipe. I hope you really enjoy it. It will certainly save you a lot of money. This will last two people and one dog, over a month.

Enjoy!

Hedgewytch Lynne

P.S. This is not my dog, but looks a lot like him. Liam wouldn’t smile for the photo. Killjoy!

About V.L.M.

Author, Editor, Poet, Composer, Environmental Activist, Spiritual Activist
This entry was posted in Make It Yourself and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

